World Cup: fire alarms, fans and the buildup to Sweden v England – live!

And like that, South America left the building, as Russia 2018 reverts to an all-european Euros-style knockout competition.

The loss of Cavani pre-whistle perhaps the biggest impediment to Uruguay’s potential progress, but in fairness it perhaps would have taken something special to beat a French side brimming with the talent they have at their disposal.

But the big news, in a tournament that’s not been light on high drama, is the departure of five-time champions and one of the pre-tournament strong favourites, Brazil, after they fell to Belgium’s “Golden Generation” after one of the most dynamic and thrilling opening halves of the tournament.

And so, now, to find out who will book their spot in the second semi-final, the plucky Swedes, “it’s coming home”-mentum England, Modric and mates Croatia, or a host nation that refuses to lie down.

Yes, we’ve two more cracking fixtures tonight; so prep your meals, line up your slippers and pre-warm your kettle, because this is big-tournament football at the pointy end, and who could honestly even begin to pretend to know what’s in store today.

Today’s schedule:

3pm BST/5pm MSK/midnight AEST: Sweden v England, Samara

7pm BST/9pm MSK/4am Monday AEST: Russia v Croatia, Sochi

As always, this is a train that picks up all passengers, irrespective of tendency-to-pun, quip or muse. Fire us your best contributions via email (richard.parkin.casual@theguardian.com), twitter (@rrjparkin) or below the line to join the conversation.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk/sport/rss

Add a Comment